Eta Beta Rho

National Scholastic Honor Society for Students of Hebrew Language and Culture

Eta Beta Rho was founded in 1960 by the National Association of Professors of Hebrew in American Institutions of Higher Learning in order to encourage high achievement in Hebrew studies. The Association continues to act as sponsor for the Society and appoints a national Coordinator of Eta Beta Rho.

Purpose of Eta Beta Rho

To recognize outstanding attainments in study of Hebrew language and literature, to stimulate study and research in this field, and to promote an understanding and appreciation of the culture of Israel.


Membership in this Society shall be based upon scholarship. Undergraduates must have completed at least 12 credits of Hebrew with an 3.0 average. They must rank not lower than the highest 35% of their class in general scholarship and shall have completed at least three semesters or five quarters of the college course. Graduate students are chosen among those with at least 3.5 average in Hebrew.

More Information

Fore more information, please contact Hebrew@UA (

  • Amanda Rothstein
  • Tara Fleishman
  • Benhamin Benlulu
  • Naomi Schnee
  • Ma' Yan Maoz
  • Bryce Megdal
  • Brianna Finkelstein
  • Jamie Oko
  • Hanna Port
  • Evan Rosenfeld
  • Sarah Sandlaufer
  • Valerie Schlegel
  • Daniela Tascarella